Yahoo

Are you tired of receiving email notifications and people contacting you via Yahoo! mail even when it’s not your primary mail account? You can delete Yahoo mail account by following the simple steps mentioned in this article.

What Comes Along With Yahoo Mail Account

Warning: By deleting your Yahoo account, you lose access to Yahoo! apps like Flickr, your emails, photos, and other personal data. We suggest you cancel Yahoo subscription services before deleting your account.

Here’s a list of what other stuff will be deleted along with your mail account;

  • Your Yahoo! ID
  • Yahoo! mail data
  • Yahoo! Address book data
  • Yahoo! Small business data
  • Yahoo! GeoCities data
  • Yahoo! Briefcase data
  • HotJobs Data

How To Delete Yahoo Mail Account

It is quite simple to delete Yahoo mail account, here’s how;

  • Visit Yahoo’s delete User page
  • Type in the CAPTCHA code to prove you are a human
  • login to your account by entering the password or OTP that Yahoo! will send on your mobile number

Terms and Conditions - "How to permanently delete your Yahoo mail"

  • An entire “Terms and conditions” like page will be presented in front of you. We suggest you read it carefully before proceeding to delete your account.

Terminate Account - "How to delete your yahoo mail account"

  • You will be asked to enter your Yahoo! email again. After entering, click on “Yes, terminate this account” button.

Account DeactivatedYou will receive a confirmation that your deletion request has been ‘received.’

Yahoo Mail Account Deletion Process

Yahoo! won’t remove anything up to 180 days. However, data connected to a Yahoo! Finance Premium account might be kept for three calendar years. You can reactivate your account within 40-90 days of deleting it, depending on your region. But, remember you will not be able to see the emails that were sent to the account when it was inactive. Once activated, you can start receiving emails once again.

Yahoo Mail

However, Yahoo! says your data might remain on their servers, and if you want your data cleaned, you have to go through deleting every photo and other data of yours on Flickr and Yahoo! Mail. If you’re wondering what will happen if you delete your account, the username of yours will be available for others to use, and the new owner of your account will receive any message sent to your email.

ALSO READ: Here’s How To Trace An Email Back To Their Source IP Address

If no one takes your username and if someone tries to send an email to it, the following message will be pushed to the sender.

SMTP 554 delivery error: dd Sorry your message to ***@yahoo.com cannot be delivered.
This account has been disabled or discontinued [#102]. - mta***.mail.***.yahoo.com

So, yeah, this is how to delete Yahoo mail account. Do let us know if you are one of those fewer people in the society still clung to Yahoo! Mail or any other Yahoo! services, in the comments section below. Also, if you find this article informational, do share with it anyone needing it.


BONUS VIDEO

For the fast reports, deep insights & opinion on consumer technology, and more, subscribe to TechDipper on Telegram. You can also follow TechDipper on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.