Are you tired of receiving email notifications and people contacting you via Yahoo! mail even when it’s not your primary mail account? You can delete Yahoo mail account by following the simple steps mentioned in this article.
What Comes Along With Yahoo Mail Account
Warning: By deleting your Yahoo account, you lose access to Yahoo! apps like Flickr, your emails, photos, and other personal data. We suggest you cancel Yahoo subscription services before deleting your account.
Here’s a list of what other stuff will be deleted along with your mail account;
- Your Yahoo! ID
- Yahoo! mail data
- Yahoo! Address book data
- Yahoo! Small business data
- Yahoo! GeoCities data
- Yahoo! Briefcase data
- HotJobs Data
How To Delete Yahoo Mail Account
It is quite simple to delete Yahoo mail account, here’s how;
- Visit Yahoo’s delete User page
- Type in the CAPTCHA code to prove you are a human
- login to your account by entering the password or OTP that Yahoo! will send on your mobile number
- An entire “Terms and conditions” like page will be presented in front of you. We suggest you read it carefully before proceeding to delete your account.
- You will be asked to enter your Yahoo! email again. After entering, click on “Yes, terminate this account” button.
You will receive a confirmation that your deletion request has been ‘received.’
Yahoo Mail Account Deletion Process
Yahoo! won’t remove anything up to 180 days. However, data connected to a Yahoo! Finance Premium account might be kept for three calendar years. You can reactivate your account within 40-90 days of deleting it, depending on your region. But, remember you will not be able to see the emails that were sent to the account when it was inactive. Once activated, you can start receiving emails once again.
However, Yahoo! says your data might remain on their servers, and if you want your data cleaned, you have to go through deleting every photo and other data of yours on Flickr and Yahoo! Mail. If you’re wondering what will happen if you delete your account, the username of yours will be available for others to use, and the new owner of your account will receive any message sent to your email.
ALSO READ: Here’s How To Trace An Email Back To Their Source IP Address
If no one takes your username and if someone tries to send an email to it, the following message will be pushed to the sender.
SMTP 554 delivery error: dd Sorry your message to ***@yahoo.com cannot be delivered. This account has been disabled or discontinued [#102]. - mta***.mail.***.yahoo.com
So, yeah, this is how to delete Yahoo mail account. Do let us know if you are one of those fewer people in the society still clung to Yahoo! Mail or any other Yahoo! services, in the comments section below. Also, if you find this article informational, do share with it anyone needing it.